PDA

View Full Version : Sharing Revit Files with Consultants

richardarchitect
2011-02-17, 10:44 PM
At the risk of sounding naive, I've been studying Revit for a couple of years now, and I'm just getting into actually attempting a simulation of sorts of creating a set of Construction Documents using Revit. Back when I was using AutoCad, files (drawings) were broken out by drawing, so it was possible to just send an individual drawing to a consultant (I know xref's made this problematic).

With Revit it seems that there is no way to send individual drawings, which makes sense because Revit is all so interconnected, and any change propogates through the entire project. The only way I can share a project in any form via email is maybe a PDF of sheets. As my present project is presently 70 MB's and growing, it seems maybe setting up an ftp or some other direct access into my network is the only option.

As I am a 1-man firm, exotics like a T3 and unlimited server space aren't an option from a financial standpoint. It seems on the surface that I become locked out from truly exploiting Revit for these reasons, however I may simply be missing something.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

cdatechguy
2011-02-17, 11:55 PM
Just as you can print individual sheets you can export sheets in dwg.....or you can just export the individual floors instead of sheets....which we do all the time for our non-Revit folk....

Some we know they have Revit so we send them the Revit files and let them extract the dwg's themselves...

Dimitri Harvalias
2011-02-18, 12:06 AM
When working with consultants who are not using Revit (some folks aren't using Revit yet?? What the...) I create a series of Consultant Export views. Plans, sections, elevations are set up as overall views i.e. not broken down or tiled and have an associated view tempalte to maintain graphic consistency.