PDA

View Full Version : Where are the walls?

Sandlass
2011-05-06, 04:28 PM
I am beginning to transition into Revit Architecture 2012 from Autocad. I am a residential architect. My question is this...My current setup does not have all of the walls and other families available that the tutorials are using. I will need to have wood framed exterior walls with siding or stone and the only walls offered are conc or metal framed. Am I mistaken that Revit should be ready to use out of the box or do I need to customize it first.

Other forums I have read say to load the residential-default template but after searching my computer there are no templates besides the 2 project example's.

Please help, I cant seem to get past the first stage of creating walls!

cdatechguy
2011-05-06, 05:03 PM
Yeah, you will have to create them....but the nice thing is once you create them you can use them on other projects...

Personally I start out with a generic 4" wall and 6" walls then change them to something else later...

Might try the sample projects as well....
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Architecture 2012\Program\Samples

cganiere
2011-05-06, 06:47 PM
Some manufacturers offer walls with their products.

dzatto
2011-05-06, 08:54 PM
Revit should have loaded 4 templates OOTB.

Residential default
Commercial default
Construction default

Try going under the Application Menu in Revit. (The big red R in the upper left corner). Hover over New (or hit the black triangle on the end)
Select Project.

When the dialogue box opens, hit the browse button. Make sure that project is selected. It should automatically open up to the imperial template folder, where the OOTB templates are stored.

FYI you have to hit new under the application menu. If you hit the shortcut button in the QAT, it will automatically open the default template.

Sandlass
2011-05-06, 09:12 PM