PDA

View Full Version : Revit vs. Auto Cad for residential house plans

raymondjdawson925863
2012-03-28, 11:25 PM
I am a student studying construction management. This summer I want to draw residential house plans on the side. I have had quite a bit of experience in Revit and feel the most comfortable using it but the draftsman at the company I work for swears auto cad is the only way to go. Should I invest time in learning auto cad. Can Revit keep up with ...pass auto cad when it comes to drawing residential elevations, roofs, and plans?
Thanks

Steve_Stafford
2012-03-29, 03:33 AM
Do the work in Revit. If someone needs dwg files then export from Revit. You already know Revit. Nothing wrong with knowing more software but there is no point being inefficient if it's your sidework.

charliep
2012-03-29, 08:24 AM
My regular work is allmost exclusively re modelling and I use Revit. Much quicker and more accurate in my opinion.

dmarshall
2012-03-29, 12:10 PM
My company does a lot of work for national housebuilders in the UK and we use Revit for the production of all the drawings. We now only use Autocad for legasy work.

You can produce a lot more information in a shorter space of time so stick with Revit.

raymondjdawson925863
2012-03-29, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the comments. I found them very valuable. I enjoy using Revit. I am glad to hear that guys are using Revit in a residential setting. Most of what we talk about in class is BIM and clash detection...not as useful in residential. Are you guys using Revit for your Take offs as well?
Thanks

jsteinhauer
2012-03-29, 03:28 PM