PDA

View Full Version : Don't Like Framing Plans!!!

zbubbas
2005-01-27, 09:32 PM
I am my wits end. What the heck are the structural elements trying to do!! Some times they shorten, some times they don't. I have a rim board (a wall element 1.25" thick) that I am butting joists to (1 3/4 X 11 7/8 plywood joist elements). I have spent the better part of the morning messing around with this. I don't want to resort to "dumb" lines to represent my joists because we just spent $15,000 upgrading from Autocad which draws everything with "Dumb" lines. As a structural engineer, I need this stuff to work. I love this program but this is a major problem that needs to be fixed. Why not just have a parameter that will cut the joist back if selected. If the program is too smart, it might start assuming things that aren't true, as in this case. I understand autodesk wants to hook the model up to third party analysis software, which is awesome. Isn't there a way to make a "dumber" structural element that I can control. If any one has any ideas, I'm all ears. I will try anything at this point including export my building back to AutoCAD and finish it that way (that would suck and I don't want to do that).

aaronrumple
2005-01-27, 09:44 PM
For this reason I've changed may of the structural families to generic families for more control... Dumbs them down.

Joef
2005-01-27, 10:02 PM
I have been through this mess as well and have yet to find anyone from Revit who admits that there is a problem. I don't hold out much hope for a fix.

zbubbas
2005-01-27, 10:06 PM
Hey Arron,
How did you dumb them down? Would you be willing to post and example? I'm not looking for a free lunch here. I don't mind making my own families but I have no clue as to how you would dumb them down. Thanks again for the quick reply.

aaronrumple
2005-01-27, 10:12 PM