PDA

View Full Version : Revit 2013 Upgraded Hardware No Performance Improvement

mattlberge357491
2012-07-26, 02:09 PM
I'm helping my new employer transition to Revit from AutoCAD. I have some experience using Revit on my fairly new computer at home. However, my employers computers are from maybe 2005 and not quite as sophisticated. I've done some research on what piece(s) of hardware are most critical to performance and I seem to be getting conflicting information so I'm posting my situation below. If anyone has any advice I'd appreciate it.

We have two systems we are considering installing our new version of Revit on (it is not a network license so once we install it is on that computer alone, at least for the short term).

System A's original specs were:
Dell Precision 380
Intel Pentium R D CPU 3.4 GHz
2 GB RAM
128 mb NVIDIA Quadro FX400 video card
64 bit system
Windows XP 64 Bit OS

System B's Specs are:
HP Compaq dc5750
AMD Anthlon 64 x2 Dual Core processor 4000+ 2.09 GHz
2 GB RAM
Two ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 display adaptors
32 bit system
Windows XP 32 Bit OS

While trying to run the exact same rendering on trial versions of Revit 2013. On system a the render time was about 10 minutes. On system B the render time was about 6 minutes.

I spoke to a salesman at Best Buy as to why a 32 Bit system was running so much better than the 32 bit system. I asked if upgrading the RAM would help. He suggested upgrading the RAM and investigating the video card.

I passed this recommendation on to my boss and we installed 4 more GB of RAM and a 1 GB NVidia Quadro 600.

System A's new specs are:
Dell Precision 380
Intel Pentium R D CPU 3.4 GHz
5.97 GB RAM (2 old slots of 1 GB and 2 slots of new 2 GB)
1 Gb NVIDIA Quadro 600 video card
64 bit system
Windows XP 64 Bit OS