PDA

View Full Version : open the doors, please

orwake
2005-02-01, 08:56 PM
I am new to Revit. Is there an obvious and easy way to make door panels open in a non-plan view like in ADT? I went through the 7.0 update tutorial (p.97-115) on Working in the Family Editor which covered attaching a door swing parameter to the plan view of a door panel, but I can't seem to get my panel extrusion to attach to the same swing. Is it really necessary to start from scratch to create a more intelligent door family or is there an easy way to show open doors in 3d views? Thanks for any help or direction toward the proper tutorials.

Orin

Steve_Stafford
2005-02-01, 09:02 PM
There is an operable door family or two on the Revit content page at Autodesk's Revit Web page.

[edited] Sorry they are plan swing adjustable. Attached is a multi swing door from David Conant's AU class on families to demonstrate how it can be done.

orwake
2005-02-02, 06:52 AM
Thanks Steve, for your referral file. I also found a few more helps from others with the same requests in the Autodesk Revit Discussion groups. I appreciate the timely response!

Orin

adegnan
2005-02-02, 12:45 PM
I've started creating a few. I'm out of town at a conference/vacation right now but I'll try to remember to share soon... Friday or next week.

sjsl
2005-02-02, 02:12 PM
I still look back at Chief Architect for door and window creation. It has some missing abilities but, by and large, extremely fast and easy to create almost any kind of door or window in only a few mouse clicks. It will create doors with any swing just by clicking and dragging to your desired location. By the time you do the door swing exercise in Revit you could have a sandwich and a coke.

There really needs to be a more general Family creator for doors and windows that has all of the bells and whistles. Over 90% of the windows we create could be handled this way.