PDA

View Full Version : Can Keynotes be tied to CSI

crarchitect
2005-02-03, 09:16 PM
Hello Revit users,

No, I am not talking about that hit TV show Crime Scene Investigations (although it would be cool to see some crime scene reconstructions done with Revit.) I am referring to the Construction Specifications Institute. Many architectural firms have been including the CSI number in the keynotes. This allows a quick reference to the specifications, and is especially helpful in providing a back check for your keynote's correctness and clarity.

Right now we have started using a separate CSI field in the keynote, with the appropriate field in the sheet's keynote legend. However, it seems like we might be strong arming a solution that could be more elegant. Has anyone been using the CSI numbers?

Thanks in advance,

noah
2005-02-03, 10:20 PM
I too would like to know how others are doing this. I just started playing with keynotes and my first reaction was to add a csi field. I'm also interested in knowing how others handle code related notes - do people tie these to keynotes or just generic notes. Anyone willing to post an example or two?

Thanks!

PeterJ
2005-02-04, 12:37 AM
I'm editing a large spreadsheet at present which has a range of notes associated with their CiSfb references. I use the reference and some form of tag to make up the type name and then I can use it for other fields if I need to. The advantage of using Excel to do the editing is that I can edit more easily than in the family editor and then dump it out to a type catalog so that in theory I can have a standard type catalog that covers steel frame, timber frame,load bearing masonry etc, all tied to their CiSfb codes and then just pull in the things I need.

You could very easily substitute the CSI codes for the CiSfb ones or a more basic uniformat arrangement. When it's complete I'll post for people to take a look at.

hand471037
2005-02-04, 12:50 AM