PDA

View Full Version : Redefining a Command using VBA

relysoft
2005-02-10, 03:23 PM
I'm a novice in VBA, but have been able to do a few useful things thus far.

I would like to be able to use a VBA function to replace an existing ACAD command. In LISP I would "undefine" the standard command, then use the "defun C:" feature to redefine the command to use my own LISP function instead of the native ACAD command code.

Is there a similar method for substituting VBA code in place of the native ACAD command? I have figured out that I could use the LISP technique to call my VBA code using the vl-vbarun function, but that seems like a really clumsy way to get to my VBA function. It is probably really simple, but I haven't yet found the key to this.

Thanks,
Bob

Ed Jobe
2005-02-10, 04:11 PM
As it stands now, vba doesn't have access to the command stack. As you have found, you will have to create a lisp wrapper for your vba. Use undefine/redefine in lisp.

relysoft
2005-02-10, 04:49 PM
Thanks for saving me a lot of time looking for a solution that does not exist.

Can anyone recommend a good book on ACAD VBA? I have been using the web and the ADESK documents to self-teach. I guess I will eventually figure it out, but it would be good to have something to help jump-start me.

Thanks,
Bob

Ed Jobe
2005-02-10, 04:54 PM
Have you tried ATP? I just finished a beginning class in Jan. You can download it from the archived classes (http://www.augi.com/education/archive.asp?page=293) link. Lesson 2 will be in March.

Mike.Perry
2005-02-10, 05:00 PM
Hi

Plus check out the following thread -

Running a routine in everyh open drawing. (http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=5010)

Have a good one, Mike

relysoft
2005-02-10, 06:50 PM
Thanks a bunch, guys.