PDA

View Full Version : Temp dim witness line snaps

tim.olson661742
2005-02-12, 05:01 AM
I'm new to Revit and trying very hard to like it. I can see its elegance and power, and realize it will eventually be a good friend...but right now it doesn't appear to be designed to work like architects think (according to adverts and literature).

Maybe what I'm looking for is buried deep in a dialog box, but I can't find it and Help is no "help". If the toggle is there I'll apologize in advance, but why can I not move a temporary dimension witness line to a core face of a wall. All I can manage is exterior face, center, or interior face...and those snaps are pretty much useless. I'd like to move the witness line to the face of the 2x4 or 2x6 stud so I can place walls and later dimension them in a manner that contractors and framers can use. I realize I could use the centerline and do the quick mental math..."let's see...add 2.75" to get to the outside face and add 1.75" to that side of the interior 2x4". No thanks; framers do that and it gets screwed up.

Please tell me it's in here.

Tim Olson

Scott D Davis
2005-02-12, 05:49 AM
Settings>Temporary Dimensions>Faces of Core

That what you are looking for?

Also, clicking the temp dim 'grips' will toggle through the different dim locations. Switch View Properties to medium or fine to see the faces of the core in compound walls.

but right now it doesn't appear to be designed to work like architects think
I have to disagree...it was designed by architects for architects, and time and time again I find it very intuitve to working like architects think.

tim.olson661742
2005-02-12, 07:35 AM
Scott,

Thanks for the quick reply. The frustration was probably evident in my tone. Sorry for that...I hope some day to contribute here like so many of you.