PDA

View Full Version : LISP/VBA Data Communication

relysoft
2005-02-15, 08:44 PM
As you regulars has seen, I have been posting questions on this forum for the last few days as I try to lean enough about ACAD's VBA environment to accomplish the task before me. Thanks for being so helpful.

Now I would like to pose a more general question....

What is a simple way to communicate data among my LISP and VBA functions. This needs to be bi-directional and must support data created in the ACAD current session or data that needs to be stored with the drawing for later use. I am thinking that XDATA and dictionaries are probably my two simplest choices. Is that correct and reasonable? Remember, I'm a novice in VBA and have coded LISP for only a few months, so I need a SIMPLE solution for my requirements.

Thanks,
Bob

Ed Jobe
2005-02-15, 09:39 PM
Sounds like you have complex requirements. So I wouldn't expect a simple solution. Can you clarify "bidirectional"? You can't have both lisp and vba controlling each other at the same time. Also, vba can use vlisp as a 'client', but it's not that staightforward the other way around.

relysoft
2005-02-15, 10:26 PM
Ed,

Sorry I was ambiguous on what I meant by bi-directional. Funny how clear it was to me until I went back and reread it with a more objective perspective.

Here's the scenario...

I have some data that resides in a text file that I read using LISP when ACAD is launched. I store this data in the blackboard and get it from there each time a drawing is opened. This information is operator-dependent so it varies by user login. I need to store a portion of this data and some dynamically created data with the drawing and update it each time the drawing is saved. I am working on using VBA to save the updated data so I can wrap my logic around the CLOSEALL and QUIT commands in case a drawing has not been saved before that point.