PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ Parapet at top of walls-new user

johnm.72642
2005-02-22, 03:58 PM
We design and build primarily pre-engineered steel buildings. What I am trying to do is figure out how to show an E.I.F.S. parapet around the top of the building. Commonly the eave height would be 14' and the top of the parapet would be 16'. I have been able to modify everthing else about my wall structure to appear as it needs to except for this. Can anyone tell me what I am missing? I have looked through help and the like, but maybe I am not looking in the right place or entering the wrong search parameters. I don't know, I am very new to this. I would really appreciate any help or pointers.

aaronrumple
2005-02-22, 04:07 PM
Look at the sample wall in the default template - "Basic Wall : Exterior - Brick and CMU on Metal Stud" It contains a sample of everything you'll need. You will need to preview the wall in section while editing the structure to see the correct tools. See the drop down at the bottom of the preview screen.

luigi
2005-02-22, 04:11 PM
EIFS Parapet like part of your wall? above your wall? Attached to your wall? You can use a Wall Hosted Sweep and/or modify the vertical property of a wall, or create a stacked wall....

If you can, attach a detail of a previous job you did so that someone can help you in which specific method would be better for you.

Peace,

stuntmonkee
2005-02-22, 04:11 PM
if I'm following you correctly, then there are a couple ways of doing this. You can go to the properties of the exterior walls and change the top constraint to +2', or you can create a parapet level and have the top constraint be attached to that.

I prefer setting the top constraint to a +2'-0" over your eave height, especially if there are varying height at the parapet, but I think thats a preference. . .i just don't like having a bunch of levels in my drawings.

johnm.72642
2005-02-22, 04:12 PM