PDA

View Full Version : 2014 Revit rendering is driving me nuts!!!

xzibited377538
2013-08-27, 06:33 PM
Ok so I'm feeling extremely frustrated with revit at the moment - in particular, the way in which materials are applied and *cough* aligned!

So I'm quite new to rendering in revit and this is my issue -

I have quite a simple project that requires some horizontal timber clad walls - so I've physically modeled the cladding with the wall sweep command - now all I want to do is apply a timber cladding material and bump map to the surface of the cladding in order to render out the 'realistic' look I'm after. So this is my problem - I have been trying to align and scale the material maps to the cladding so the shadows fall at the lip of each length of cladding, I have been (unsuccessfully) trying to do this for the last hour by delving in and out of the graphics and appearance tabs and trying to guess the dimensions and the alignment and I'm getting absolutely nowhere!

I think my misery is further compounded by the fact that I'm quite an experienced 3ds Max user and realize how easy this would be to achieve in Max in just a few minutes - the problem is when ever I open my linked revit file in Max, Max crashes despite the fact I have far more complicated Max based projects that I'm currently working on that run with no issues...

Am I completely missing something or is it really this tedious to align material maps in revit? Is there any kind of UVW map modifier type extension I can download?

Sorry for my rant - but I just felt the need to vent my frustrations...

rbcameron1
2013-08-27, 07:26 PM
As far as I know it really is that tedious to map materials in Revit. Although, other than spending a lot of time, I've never had trouble with it.
I think there's already a service pack 1 for Revit 2014. Are you linking it into 3dsMax 2014? I believe there are a couple of SP's for that too...