PDA

View Full Version : 2014 Renovation/Addition Project: How Do You Like to Model the Existing?

jimmybpsu
2013-09-23, 01:13 PM
I will soon be starting a new project that includes a partial renovation and an addition, to an existing healthcare facility.
I am interested to hear user's preferences on managing the existing/demo portions of work ... model existing in a separate file and link it into the new-work project file? create all work (existing and new) in one project file? create all work in one project file but manage the portions via Model Groups or some other method?

I am concerned with the best functionality of the phasing, scheduling, work flow, etc but also with managing the existing portions of work (keeping other users from "accidentally" moving/altering portions of the existing building).

I am relatively new to my firm, at previous firms I had successfully used a LINK for the existing work, opening it up to make changes to the demolished portion and extent of demolition, with all of the new-work performed in a separate file. The BIM managers at my office have not done this before and are hesitant (worried about time to open & reopen separate files, but also with how this works when all you demo/replace are individual doors, e.g.)

I appreciate your input on experience or best practices (I will be using 2014 for this project, my first 2014 project ... which I assume doesn't have much influence on my decision unless there are new features I don't know about)

Mike L Sealander
2013-09-24, 10:58 AM