PDA

View Full Version : 2014 Residential Foundations

davin422936
2014-01-09, 03:55 PM
I'm a Newbie to the BIM/Revit world and I work in Residential design. What is the general consensus or best practice for making accurate residential slab foundations? When I say accurate I mean so that a wall detail it will show the foundation and the brick ledge properly.

damon.sidel
2014-01-09, 07:22 PM
Could you post an example detail to illustrate what condition you wish to document? I think it would make a big difference if it is a slab-on-grade, slab with grade beams, foundation wall, etc.

With that said, assuming you mean something like this http://www.imiweb.org/design_tools/masonry_details/details/01.030.0322.php, then I'd probably go with a foundation wall with two concrete layers, the exterior layer having an adjustable height. You can do this when you edit the wall layers. http://www.revitzone.com/3d-modelling/182-walls-extending-individual-layers You could do this for the foundation wall to make a step and you could do it for the brick wall to have the brick extend down to the ledge while the structure sits at the slab height.

davin422936
2014-01-09, 07:50 PM
Here is a detail sample of what I'm trying to accomplish. I'm not sure if I should even bother modeling it or just show it on the detail.

cdatechguy
2014-01-09, 08:17 PM
I always like modeling like it was built....so if you have a building section, a wall section or a detail it shows correctly....

So in your case you can create a sweep to add the angle and join to the wall and floor....the cut at the brick can be a sweep void cut from the foundation....

damon.sidel
2014-01-09, 08:59 PM
With the angle and the fact that you aren't showing a break between the floor slab and the wall, I'd use a Floor Slab Edge and for the brick wall using the feature I posted about above to bring the brick down below the top of slab.

david_peterson
2014-01-10, 06:23 PM