PDA

View Full Version : 2014 Really slow render times

Craig_L
2015-02-11, 09:15 AM
Hi Architectural peoples.
I've recently been doing a lot of modeling to win projects (with mixed success)...

I don't often render, and I'm terrible with photoshop, actually I'd have no idea where to begin. I am a structural modeler.

I am currently trying to export a render as part of a presentation for a job, I have modeled in lights and other interesting bits to make the render look pretty.
I actually find the lights are making the render painfully long, before I added the artificial lights I was able to get a rough render out in a few minutes.
With the "artificial and natural light" setting in the render button, I've been waiting on this one render now for 3 hours and its at 18%.

Can someone who spits out renders often give me some tips in reducing this time frame?
I mean, I can't even know if this image is going to be worth keeping until I see it rendered, so I'm wasting tons of time and tying up my machine with these long renders.

What sort of procedure do you have for producing renders, do you use a dedicated render machine, and what sort of specs does it need to produce renders faster?

I still need to produce a walk-through animation, and if it takes this long to produce one image, I have a feeling I wont be able to produce a very pretty walk through in the time frame I have before this presentation is due.

Any tips from you Archi guys/gals for rendering that you feel like sharing would be appreciated!

Also, is the Cloud rendering worth it??

Thanks

david_peterson
2015-02-11, 05:45 PM
Last thing first, the cloud.
While the cloud will do the work for you, the rendering engine is totally different so you'll never get the same results as you do from your local workstation.
So you'll need to set up your model and render it a few times in the cloud to get the setting correct.