PDA

View Full Version : Non-Structural Beams/Soffits

me.76945
2005-03-23, 08:57 PM
I am new to Revit and I am learning as I go. I am working on a space that has several stepped soffits and beams running across the ceiling. I have searched through the help files and Tutorials, but can't seem to find any insight as to how to handle these elements. I have used "floating" walls to create the soffit faces, with ceiling planes for the under side. I have used the join tool to connect the ceiling to the wall, but the finishes don't wrap the bottom of the wall. Is there another way to create this detail?

As for the false beams, some of these are exposed on four sides, some on only three. Can someone please suggest an approach for these beams that would allow me to apply materials to all sides?

PeterJ
2005-03-23, 09:07 PM
I think you are on the right track. Look at exactly what level your walls start from. I think it should work if you set the base of the wall to the same level as the top of the ceiling and then do join geometry.

The solid beam can be done with a simple family using the generic family template instead of the structural one.

me.76945
2005-03-23, 09:34 PM
Thanks for your quick reply Pete.

I have the base of the wall and bottom plane of the ceiling at the same height. They are both gyp board on mtl studs. When I cut a detail section of the soffit, the studs seem to have joined, but the walls gyp board finish stops at the top of the ceilings studs. Is there a wrap setting that I need to check? Or, is there a manual approach? Or do I just pick this up in a detail by drafting the finish in?

I am pretty raw on the creation of a new family element, but I am diving in to see if I can make your suggestion work.

Thanks again for the help.

Greg

sevensixfive
2007-10-12, 06:36 PM
*bump*

I've got the same problem here, base of soffit wall is the same as my gyp. board ceiling height, but the drywall isn't wrapping even after the geometry's joined.

Melarch