PDA

View Full Version : Residential cd's with Revit

muttlieb
2003-11-30, 07:39 PM
I am a designer with a small residential remodeling design/build firm. I've been using ADT since its release, currently R3. I have been considering switching over to one of the BIM software solutions and have it narrowed down to ArchiCad and Revit (what else is there?). I've been playing around with the demos of both for the last few days. I definetely prefer the overall user interface and drawing feedback that Revit provides over ArchiCad. ArchiCad just feels very cumbersome to use. My main concern with Revit is its ability to produce construction documents. I've heard that construction docs have to be finished in AutoCad. Ok, I heard this in an ArchiCad forum, but it still causes me some concern. For example, how do you create a roof framing plan in Revit? Would you model each rafter/truss in 3D or would you draw a 2D layout? I like the idea of a complete 3D model but if the software really can't do it, what is the point? In other words, if the software can't really create a complete BIM, why should I switch? Will I still be producing a lot of 2D drawings to complete construction docs? I'd love to see some examples of residential construction docs completed with Revit only.

Henry D
2003-11-30, 09:08 PM