PDA

View Full Version : Revit is being challenged

Bluemotif
2005-03-25, 08:12 PM
Recently in a forum on the FormZ website a discussion was brought up debating the speed at which you can model a building in FormZ compared to revit. Being a former FormZ modeler i made the comment that Revit is much faster when it comes to modeling architecture. Needless to say i was attached with emails saying this was impossible, that there was no way Revit would be faster. So the folks at Auto.des.sys(formZ) proposed a contest at one of the upcoming shows. Is this something Revit would be interested in? Do any other users feel FormZ is faster?

http://www.formz.com/forum/board_topics.html then click on discussion, then 3D Photorealistic Architectural Renderings to view the thread.

Is Revit up to the challenge?

Kroke
2005-03-25, 08:18 PM
Nice read...i have no skillz in FormZ

J. Grouchy
2005-03-25, 08:22 PM
Is Revit up to the challenge?

Sounds like you are a FormZ plant...no offense, but that's just how it appears to me. I'm not terribly familiar with FormZ, so I can't speak to its usefulness...but it seems like a silly pointless challenge with no purpose other than to shore up either side's support for their product.

There doesn't seem to be any discussion about the point of Revit. People do not use Revit to create models of teacups, they use it to create models and construction documents of buildings...and Rendering is a part of this (though not always). You might as well compare Photoshop to InDesign...

But again, I'm not totally familiar with FormZ, so correct me if I'm wrong.

DanielleAnderson
2005-03-25, 08:34 PM
I had to use formZ in college and I thought it was a nightmare. It has lots of capabilities, but it doesn't have that third dimensional control that revit has and I was always getting lost in my z coordinates, drawing things in what i thought was the right place and then discovering they were miles off.