PDA

View Full Version : 2016 learning revit

xxehsomxx742503
2017-01-27, 12:46 AM
Hello,

I’m a fourth-year architecture student, and I need to learn Revit as part of my studies.
I already took a course that covers the basics.
I’ve consulted with my colleagues, and been told that watching video guide (like Lynda’s Revit essentials) is recommended for getting familiar with the software. I tried to watch the video guide, and it wasn’t easy to apply what was learned. The contents were scattered to my opinion.
Do you think that learning the software through a book would be more effective?
If it would do the work, can you recommend on one? A book that deals with one project that you develop in each exercise or chapter.

Thanks a lot,
Jonatan

Kimberly Fuhrman
2017-01-27, 04:56 PM
Congrats, Jonatan! I think it really depends on your personal learning style...are you typically a visual learner (videos), hands-on (just get into the software and figure it out) or do you like to read technical manuals? I'm a book learner, personally...I like some of the Sybex Revit manuals in the Mastering Autodesk Revit Architecture series. There are downloadable project files to work through. Daniel Stine has a few through SDC Publications as well. Hope that helps!

xxehsomxx742503
2017-01-28, 10:27 AM
Thank you for your help! I'll check both sources that you have suggested.

harkeychad
2017-02-16, 09:24 PM