PDA

View Full Version : 2018 Revit 2019?

CrawfordSmith99
2018-01-15, 10:34 PM
Has anyone heard anything about a release date for Revit 2019? Is there even going to BE a Revit 2019? I've been hearing for several years that Autodesk might go away from the annual release cycle. Now that they've rammed the subscription licensing model down everybody's throats, I thought it might be time.

Similarly, are there amy plans for a Revit 2018.3 upgrade. We usually don't install new versions until autumn.

Thanks.

-Crawford

Scott D Davis
2018-01-16, 06:35 AM
Yes, there will be a Revit 2019, and a Revit 2018.3, coming soon. The release dates are not made public. The best indicator of an approximate date is to look at the history of previous releases of Revit.

david_peterson
2018-01-16, 07:45 PM
Basically what Scott is saying is 2019 should be out mid April. Just like the last several releases of Autodesk products.

CrawfordSmith99
2018-01-17, 05:33 PM
Thanks for the info, Scott.

I'm curious as to why this information is not made public. It would be quite useful for IT workload planning.

-Crawford

Steve_Stafford
2018-01-17, 06:51 PM
The ages old reason they provide is that they are a publicly traded company and have to be careful about forward looking statements (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward-looking_statement) that can impact the stock and investment risk (also Sarbanes-Oxley Act (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarbanes%E2%80%93Oxley_Act)). They take it seriously enough to behave this way consistently for as long as they've been around.

For what it's worth, they've released a new version of Revit in April/May every year, for many years now.

a_meteni
2018-01-17, 07:36 PM
For what it's worth, they've released a new version of Revit in April/May every year, for many years now.

But had they announced any specific product release date ,in advance, before?

Steve_Stafford
2018-01-17, 07:52 PM