PDA

View Full Version : New User

nainesh1844
2003-12-09, 07:39 PM
I have just started a small practice in west london and joined zoog as a new member. I have decided to migrate from ADT2004 to Revit and want to start a new project on Revit. I do not have any experience of Revit at all but having attended a seminar and spoken to some existing Revit users convinced myself that Revit is the way forward for me.

My background is entirely in AutoCAD and ADT for the past 14 years. I need help and support with Revit starting from Jan 2004 and am hoping that this forum will come to my rescue when I need it.

gregcashen
2003-12-09, 07:45 PM
You can bet on it. Glad to have you here!

bclarch
2003-12-09, 08:17 PM
In some ways it is harder two switch from Autocad to Revit than it is to learn Revit from scratch because you have to unlearn certain ways of doing things. The biggest change is in how you approach the project. Revit is more like the real world in that you need to start thinking about defining and assembling elements of the building rather than drawing abstract representations of them in 2D. If you think along these lines, the transition will go fairly smoothly. Good luck.

ita
2003-12-10, 12:15 AM
As an ex Autocad and ADT user, I found that I wanted to go back to the former apps when I had got the Revit model to a certian point. I found the dimensioning and text clumsy and hard to implement - simply because I wanted my previous tools and styles.

When I realised that I had crossed the Rubicon and life was differnt on the other side and that Revit was what I had chosen, it all started to change quickly. Now I will not go back!