PDA

View Full Version : Lower Level/Fdn question for Residential

harkeychad
2005-04-18, 06:49 PM
I am wanting to have a foundation view and a lower level view. I tried to copy the foundation view to make a lower level view, but the walls I add go on both. I am still new to this, so do not laugh to much. What can I do about this?

Mike.68517
2005-04-18, 07:04 PM
Go to an elevation and add a new level...

mlgatzke
2005-04-19, 03:04 AM
I don't think that adding a new level will help. I'd suggest using the Visibility Graphics (VG) settings or phasing. This way you can have walls that can be turned off in one view, but remain visible in another.

I don't know, can walls have sub-categories? I'd assume this is possible in the Object Styles dialog. Then you can have your exterior foundation walls on the "Walls" category (that is visible) and your interior walls on a sub-category (that is not visible).

beegee
2005-04-19, 03:29 AM
The answer is ( deep breath ) - worksets.

Don't be scared of worksets, get to know them and they will be your friends. :)

BTW, walls cannot have sub-categories. They can be defined as non-bearing, bearing, shear and structural combined, and then hidden by view discipline, but that won't help if both walls ( bearing wall and foundation wall ) are structural.

glen.85659
2005-04-19, 05:56 AM
I do not think that worksets are the answer. I agree with Mike.68517. Add a level below the ground plane and set the cut plane so that it shows only foundations.

Arnel Aguel
2005-04-19, 07:42 AM
BTW, walls cannot have sub-categories.

Beegee I think we can assign a wall to a subcategory as long as the wall is constructed as in-place family.

roy.70844
2005-04-19, 01:46 PM
I do not think that worksets are the answer. I agree with Mike.68517. Add a level below the ground plane and set the cut plane so that it shows only foundations.