PDA

View Full Version : Notch in Wall

kwong
2005-04-19, 01:27 PM
Hi all,
I have a situation where I have to put a notch in my concrete wall - can anyone help? Please see attached (from AutoCAD drawing). Thanks.
kwong

glen.85659
2005-04-19, 01:41 PM
Does this notch go up all the way. If so then use a vertical sweep profile which is a void. Otherwise you could create a wall based component which cuts into the wall also as a void.

Could you attach an elevation so i can see what it looks like?

Arnel Aguel
2005-04-19, 02:05 PM
That is done using hosted sweep reveal create your reveal profile then load it to hosted sweep..It doesn't matter whether or not it will follow the full height of the wall as it can be edited.

daniel.hurtubise70031
2005-04-19, 07:49 PM
Try this, i included the profile.

kwong
2005-04-20, 03:28 AM
Hi all,
Thanks for your response - I tried looking up hosted sweep in the help file but got nowhere. I'm still relatively new to Revit so can someone elaborate on how to go about using the profile? Or point me in the right direction of the help files. Thanks.
kwong

Arnel Aguel
2005-04-20, 03:44 AM
Create a new hosted profile as per your section requirement then assign it as reveal category from the settings menu/family category and parameters and save the profile.
Load your profile in your project then use hosted sweep reveal using your loaded profile.

gbrowne
2005-04-20, 07:54 AM
Just watch out for the tickbox's for horizontal and vertical on your toolbar when using the sweep command. I missed them for a wee while, stressed me right out...

kwong
2005-04-20, 09:19 AM
Thank you all for your contributions & tips - got it to work, and thanks Daniel for taking the trouble to create that profile for me. :grin:
kwong

daniel.hurtubise70031
2005-04-20, 10:05 AM
the pleasure is mine, keep posting if you got more trouble. We love to see new users.

glen.85659
2005-04-21, 09:03 AM
Sorry guys. I meant to say reveal, not sweep.

tomm
2005-07-21, 07:12 PM