PDA

View Full Version : Learning on the road

Griff
2004-01-11, 09:57 PM
This is my first project using Revit. I am at the job site getting as-built information. I am trying not to ask questions that I can search and find answers for, but right now I don't have time to do an exhaustive search. I hope this question in clear.

My question is: I have placed the exist concrete columns and now I'm drawing the existing 6" CMU walls that form the corridors. When I draw my CMU, do I draw it through the columns or up to each column? If I draw through the column the wall and column look like one object (no line separating them). If I draw them through the columns (one wall object), is there a way to have the column and wall show as separate?

Thanks for your help

LRaiz
2004-01-11, 10:23 PM
You may want to use structural columns instead of architectural columns. Architectural columns are intended to join to walls while structural would not. Do a search for "structural column" on this web side to find several discussions of this topic.

LR

loretodc1805
2004-01-11, 10:28 PM
Dave whenever I try to figure out what method I should use when creating the BIM, I simply try to figure out how the contractor would build what it is I am designing. The beauty of Revit is that after awhile you will not only approach a project as a designer but you will really start thinking of the project in terms of a contractor.

After using Revit in our office for the past three yearrs, I find that this is the closest that I will ever get to becoming a contractor on-site without the hassle and worries of unions, materials, and whatever else can hold up a job.

Typically I would draw the columns first and then draw the walls to the column. If the column is a thinner thickness than the wall, I would then infill the difference with a thinner CMU wall.

I hope this helps

Paul F. Loreto, Architect, AAC

Griff
2004-01-11, 11:11 PM