PDA

View Full Version : Low slope roof yet again.

mikemck
2005-07-01, 04:27 AM
I am trying to create a low slope roof (1/8" per foot) with a parapet all around.

After reading about 100 messages, I got as far as creating a sloped reference plane and set it as the work plane.

At this point I can't create the roof sketch. Revit wants the work plane to be parallel to the screen.

How should I proceed from this point.

Thanks for any assistance.

This is my first attempt to do a whole project with Revit including construction documents. There are a lot of times when I think I should have finished it in AutoCAD because it is so slow going and the client is eager for me to finish.

Mike

PeterJ
2005-07-01, 04:38 AM
Why not use an extruded roof, then you can simply draw in whatever angle you require in a view that is perpendicular to the extrusion (typically a gable end elevation).

Scott D Davis
2005-07-01, 04:46 AM
Do you have a sketch of what you are trying to do? Sounds to me like a simple 'footprint' roof, with a single sketch line set to slope-defining at 1/8" per foot would be all you need.

Also, are you sure 1/8" per foot is allowed? Most "Flat" roofs have an absolute minimum of 1/4" per foot.

mikemck
2005-12-13, 02:57 AM
I am now on my third project since I posted the initial message.

As PeterJ suggested, an extruded roof seems to work well for this, expecially if the slope isn't a nice even 1/4" per foot.

In my case, the slope of the steel joists was set by block coursing and was not exactly 1/4"

If I tried to do it with a roof by footprint I would have to figure out what the actual slope is and would have to worry about how well the bottom of the roof mated with the top of the joists.

I set the slope of the joists using named sloping reference planes.

When I did the roof extrusion I drew the profile using an offset from these reference planes equal to the roof thickness.