PDA

View Full Version : Exporting to Building Systems

Griff
2004-01-28, 03:27 PM
I'm not asking for anyone to spend a lot of time explaining how the mapping works in Revit, just some directions on which files to edit and maybe a tutorial cuz currently my files aren't exporting the way I thought they should.

This is my first project in Revit and thanks to everyone on this newsgroup I've learned alot. Learning the program hasn't been that difficult, infact it's been fun, it's just setting up everything so that it's seamless between my files and the AutoCad users.

First of all I started using Revit after attending AU. I started my project with Jim Baldings template on the CD that he handed out in class. I've change settings and I'm not sure how much it resembles Jim's file anymore, but I thought it was a good starting point.

I have created an Importlineweights-dwg.txt file, matching the lineweights to our standards and loaded it into Revit.

I am also using the exportlayers-dwg-AIA.txt file since it is close to our standard layers.

When I export out the Existing RCP to AutoCad I would expect the walls below the ceiling to be halftone or dashed while those existing walls that extend through the ceiling would be darker, but they are all the same and there is no break in the wall height.?? Also, when I list one of the walls in AutoCad my walls are color 90 (I have no idea where that came from) and when I go into the layers to change the color to Bylayer, it is grayed out and says that it is color 10.

I have tried finding information on what I need to change but what I have found so far doesn't help. If anyone knows of info that will help me set this up correctly I'd appreciate it.

Wes Macaulay
2004-01-28, 03:44 PM
Exporting to Building Systems, eh? It's nice to hear of someone using the software around this NG.

Go to File > Import/Export Settings > Export Layers DWG/DXF. Set up the layer names and colours you wish to use when you export.

Griff