fedorov
2005-09-05, 08:00 AM
Which max length dimension in Revit?

Example: input dimension > 1000m.

How do dimension families large 1000 m.

eddy.lermytte
2005-09-05, 09:38 PM
fedorof
I think the group do not understand what you really mean.
Try to rephrase your question ... make it clear.

Roger Evans
2005-09-05, 09:51 PM
I think he's asking whether you can set meaurements in Km / Miles
Acres / Hectares etc

LRaiz
2005-09-06, 02:36 AM
No, fedorov is making an observation that in Revit one can not type a dimension value greater than 3000 feet ( or a corresponding value in meters, etc.). There is a good reason for this limitation but it is too technical and too involved to be explained in an AUGI post.

Shaun v Rooyen
2005-09-06, 10:13 AM
Well it does pose a small problem when you're building more than 914,4m above sea level. Typically where we are is over 1.5km above sea level. But to drop the 1 is a small work around.

Wes Macaulay
2005-09-06, 03:15 PM
Though I have little knowledge of such things, my understanding is that it has to do with the limitations of the OpenGL display system. So if you import a DWG that has entities a long (say, a million units) way from 0,0 you'll notice that the entities may look distorted or blocky.

Revit and AutoCAD must have different display systems since you don't get this behaviour in AutoCAD.

FK
2005-09-06, 05:14 PM
Almost right, OpenGL works in single-precision floating point and most of the rest of Revit is double-precision.

If your site is high above sea level, keep your ground floor at elevation 0 in project coordinates and set the proper elevation in shared coordinates.

Wes Macaulay
2005-09-06, 05:24 PM
Thanks a bunch for this, Fedor. Though we'll still have to knock off the elevation of the project (http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=24961)of our point values when working with the topography...

MikeJarosz
2005-09-06, 06:30 PM
fedorof
I think the group do not understand what you really mean.