PDA

View Full Version : Linked files and phases

beegee
2004-03-11, 02:46 AM
I have a master site plan containing both rvt and dwg linked files.

I want to show a plan for stage 1 only.

I can use the visibility graphics dialogue to assign phases and filters to the rvt files and I can select the dwg instances and turn off visibility for their instances- so far so good.

Problem arises when there are instances of a linked rvt file in both Stage 1 and Stage 2. In this case, rvt links. The visibility graphics dialogue only shows the one file linked, not each instance, so I can't turn off just the instance in Stage 2.
If I link another instance, there is still only the one file type showing.

Anyone come across this or have a solution ?

beegee
2004-03-11, 05:22 AM
I suppose I could make the instance in Stage 2 as a dwg file and control its display in Stage 1 that way.

But I'd rather not. It will require redoing if the rvt file changes if I go that way.

Any other ideas ?

PeterJ
2004-03-11, 11:34 AM
Can you not duplicate your linked file and then link that in so that you have different named files?

christopher.zoog51272
2004-03-11, 05:01 PM
Can you not duplicate your linked file and then link that in so that you have different named files?

that's what I would do.

beegee
2004-03-11, 09:31 PM

Doesn't that defeat the whole purpose of a linked file, because I then have two separate copies of the same building to update if I make a change to the original design ?

Or, am I missing something here ?

PeterJ
2004-03-12, 08:42 AM
Yeah but you update one and duplicate it again and you have two copies, it is one extra stage and so not a big overhead on your time.

beegee
2004-03-12, 11:03 PM
As you say, that sort of overhead is acceptable for a 2 stage master plan, but much beyond that and its not.