PDA

View Full Version : export for structural analysis

jfudo1892
2004-03-15, 07:30 PM
I'll start off by saying that I'm new here, and I'm a structural engineer. I've been working in revit for a coule weeks now, and I'm starting to appreciate its abilities and potential.

Ok, I've fully modelled in revit the framing for a large church building (relatively complicated layout). Took a couple days, but it looks great. In an attempt to save time, I want to export the steel framing (all located in its own workset) to a single line 3D DXF file. I've found that by going into the 3D view, then exporting from there, I can get a dxf of the framing, but all the beams and columns shapes are shown. If there was a way to do this while leaving a clean line drawing my efforts would be greatly reduced.

I don't know 3D autocad very well, and I can't figure out how to fix it there either. Is there anyone out there that has successfully converted framing to a finite element analysis program?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Scott D Davis
2004-03-15, 07:33 PM
This is a question for Greg Cashen. He was on vacation last week, not sure if he's back yet. Drop him a PM or eamil.

David Sammons
2004-03-15, 08:16 PM
I am currently experimenting with exporting a DXF file from Revit and importing the structural geometry to a structural analysis and design application (SAP2000). So far I have not had much success but I will let you know if I make any progress.

Dave S.

PeterJ
2004-03-15, 09:01 PM
If what you require is essentially a stick diagram then you should just be able to set the view resoltuin to coarse and then export. I have not played with 3D export so I don't know what you will guess, but it should work.

gregcashen
2004-03-15, 09:40 PM
I can do this...sort of ;) ... in Multi-frame. Don't know about other tools, but I would guess it's pretty similar based on past experiences. Here's what you do...

1) Open a 3D Framing view with nothing visible but the framing and columns.