PDA

View Full Version : Elliptical Hood Fan

three_yees1748
2004-03-27, 09:30 PM
Hey All,

I am a novice and have a client who would like to have an elliptical hood fan modelled for their kitchen. I have attached an image of what it looks like. Can anyone suggest how I might approach this? I have done some simple families but am not very comfortable with them yet.

Thanks in advance.

Tyrone.

aggockel50321
2004-03-27, 10:46 PM
Attached is the elliptical lower hood. It's made as a blend solid & a blend void. The bottom sketch for the solid & void are two elipse halves, both with the same major axis but differing minors.

Try editing the solid & void and you'll see how it's constructed. You'll have to anyhow, to change it to the dimensions shown in your sketch.

You can do the rest, with solid extrusions, blends, sweeps,or revolves.

three_yees1748
2004-03-28, 07:20 AM
Andrewg,

Thanks for file. I see where you are going with this but the way I interpret the the gif of the hood fan is this:

In plan the hood is the shape of an ellipse. In the front view it should have a curve to it.

I guess the best way of describing it is like taking an elliptical pancake and draping it over a barrel. It's the "draped" part that I do not know how to do.

I remember taking the online courses for roofs from Revit and someone showing a "saddle" shape roof. I guess this is similar to that but had no idea how he did it. He did say that he used blends to achieve it.

Maybe I could create an elliptical extrusion. Then, use curved voids on the top and bottom of the extrusion to cut out the profile??

I'll give that a go and then reply. Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks.

Tyrone

three_yees1748
2004-03-28, 08:15 AM
Okay, I think I figured it out. Thanks for giving me some ideas Andrewg!

I have attached the family and an image for comments.