PDA

View Full Version : Parapet Wall w/ Coping

weston
2006-01-20, 11:11 PM
Hi All,
I am very new to Revit and I working on my first project. My firm is using me as a guinea pig to decide if we are going to implement the program.

My first major problem that I have ran into is trying to create a parapet wall with coping. I can easily create a three foot high wall but for whatever reason I cannot figure the coping out. I tried to create a sweep in the wall assembly using the coping detail item but the program would not let me do that. Am I going about this the wrong way. I think that creating an in place family would be the correct way, but I do not know how to do this. Can somebody help?

Thanks!

mikemck
2006-01-20, 11:22 PM
Select the wall

Click the properties button.

Then click edit.

Then click edit structure.

Be sure you have selected preview in the lower left corner and choose the section view.

Now you can add a coping sweep to the top of the wall.

weston
2006-01-23, 02:55 PM
I did try that but there are only stone or precast profile options. How do I create and use a different profile?

patricks
2006-01-23, 03:53 PM
Have you gone through the tutorials yet? I'm pretty sure it covers all of what you need. That was the biggest help for me learning the program.

aaronrumple
2006-01-23, 04:48 PM
...My firm is using me as a guinea pig to decide if we are going to implement the program....you know the guinea pig usually dies a horrible death in those clinical tests. ;-)

In general, I've noticed a lot of new users since the end of AU. Seems to me that Revit interest is on the rise. I've also noticed that it seems that offices are jumping in with no training. At the minimum, everyone should do the tutorials.

stuntmonkee
2006-01-23, 04:49 PM