PDA

View Full Version : Help I cant find a job using Revit

jess1917
2004-04-13, 07:48 PM
I learned ADT 3.3 from a small comm. college in Iowa. The next semester I also learned Revit. I loved revit, but when i graduated the only companies hiring use Autocad. I tried to get the Builder that I work for to switch over, but even with all its capabilities their stuck on Autocad. It really ticks me off because i know revit is so great. What do you people think

aaronrumple
2004-04-13, 07:55 PM
Do the project in Revit and give him the DWG files....
<Keep the Revit model yourself so when he want's a fast change - he can't do without you...>

gregcashen
2004-04-13, 08:12 PM
Do the project in Revit and give him the DWG files....
<Keep the Revit model yourself so when he want's a fast change - he can't do without you...>

That's an interesting idea. But I wonder if it violates the work-product rules that most companies try to force their employees to agree to in the employment contract nowadays. I know that the company I worked for in San Francisco had a policy that any technology developed by employees was considered work-product of the company and was therefore "owned" by them. I think this was the case when I was at one of the Big 5 consulting companies too. But at least they would allow you to write a business plan to market the service, product, whatever and then you could start up a new line of business within the company. Those are much bigger companies, but I suspect that even a small company could claim that since the model was produced on company time with (presumably) company equpiment, then it is work product.