PDA

View Full Version : Deploying Revit

bimologist
2006-02-08, 10:32 PM
We just posted a new build of Revit Building on www.autodesk.com/revitbuilding (http://www.autodesk.com/revitbuilding)

The new build is primarily a service for the localized versions of Revit Building 8.1. There is one additional issue that has been resolved for the benefit of all users; the problem that the wall join on one end of a wall changes when the other end of the same wall is edited.

thanks,
tanja
I am new to Revit, but I am still trying to struggle with the idea how do I send an update out to all the installed base. I have heard stories about people working on worksets should all be on the same build and I had voiced my concern to you at AU2005 as well. I mentioned to you and Julian that I am not opposed to constant builds (infact its great tha tyou keep fixing errors) but it is not easy to deploy the builds as patches as you have to uninstall the previous build then install the new one.
I have not gotten into depth yet installation wise, but I think that action overrites your REvit.ini file which user may have customized since we are at the initial stages of Revit implementation with 2 huge arena projects in the pipeline slated for Revit.

I am also struggling with Network deployments not installing OTB content locally, they assume that the network location already has it (which is a great assumption,) but if I select the local ALLUSERPROFILE\ADesk\Revit 8.1 as default, there is no content there,
Like ADT deployment, you have a choice of installing the Local content or not using the Network deployment wizard, i.e. Default, Shared etc. Shared does not install the content (though it has its problems if the directory is locked)

So for future please consider some strategy of deploying updated builds easily which preserving the user settings by using Patch technologies, etc.

thanks

Nauman Mysorewala
GBBN Architects.

tc3dcad60731
2006-02-08, 10:47 PM