PDA

View Full Version : Convert Splines to Polylines

juliefrancoeur109665
2006-03-31, 06:44 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm new to AUGI and I could really use your help. I'm doing graphic design with Autocad right now and I'm having a really hard time. I need to import Illustrator files to Autocad and have Polylines, NOT SPLINES. My drawings are sent to an engineer who works with Gibbs and it doesn't work with splines.

I am a beginner with Autocad, so please explain step by step and don't hesitate to send my links or anything you can find...

THANKS

Opie
2006-03-31, 07:40 PM
Have a look at this tip from the AutoCAD Knowledge Base provided by Autodesk.

ID: TS69659 - Convert a spline to a polyline for conversion to a third-party product (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=2866473&linkID=2475323)

juliefrancoeur109665
2006-03-31, 07:58 PM
Thanks Opie,
I guess I have an other problem, I can't try you tip because Autocad freezes within a minute of opening my Illustrator DWG. I don't know if the fact that I use Autocad 2000 has something to do with it.

Does that happen to anyone else?

Opie
2006-03-31, 08:01 PM
I can't help you there, since I don't deal with Illustrator.

Have you tried to Recover the drawing? (found in the File Menu -> Drawing Utilities) or Audit (also found in the same place)

Wanderer
2006-03-31, 09:31 PM
julie, I'm going to move this from the Software forum to here, as I believe it will be served better. Thanks! :)
Hi everyone,
I'm new to AUGI and I could really use your help. I'm doing graphic design with Autocad right now and I'm having a really hard time. I need to import Illustrator files to Autocad and have Polylines, NOT SPLINES. My drawings are sent to an engineer who works with Gibbs and it doesn't work with splines.

I am a beginner with Autocad, so please explain step by step and don't hesitate to send my links or anything you can find...

THANKS

Mike.Perry
2006-03-31, 11:58 PM
Hi