PDA

View Full Version : Unbonded Braces? (BRBF's)

ekneer
2006-04-11, 06:57 PM
Just wanted to see if any ambitious REVIT Structure users have modeled a family for unbonded braces from any of the three manufacturers (Nippon, Corebrace, Star)?

I'm modeling a BRBF building right now, and wanted to see if I was the first? (I hope not)

Here's some links to the manufacturer's websites for those who would like more info:

http://www.corebrace.com/

http://www.starseismic.net/products.html

ekneer
2006-04-11, 09:55 PM
OK....so I've tried modeling a family for the unbonded braces. However, I'm debugging the geometry constraints right now, as I'm having difficulties defining family types without it going haywire.

If someone else already has a family, or would like to use the files I've attached as a base to begin one, let me know.

Until I hear otherwise though, I'll struggle onward. Learn by screwing up, right?

P.S. This is my first time creating a family, so I apologize for whatever inefficiencies or mistakes may be in the models.

EDIT: So in my continuing work, I've noticed that I screwed up and put this under the Structural Column Family, instead of the Structural Framing Family. But within the family editor, it won't allow me to change the family. How can I transfer this model to the Structural Framing Family?

ekneer
2006-04-19, 09:53 PM
...bump...

Anyone? Bueller?

Paul Andersen
2006-04-20, 12:55 PM
Erik, you can change a families category from structural column to structural framing (settings -> family category and parameters ...) however this will not allow your current family to function as though it were created from a beam/brace template. It would be best to either recreate this family from scratch in the proper template or I would recommend you start by copying the appropriate delivered structural framing family (hss-hollow structural section) family and type catalog. Add your mortar and core plate geometry and you should be good to go.