PDA

View Full Version : Deploy TrueView custom profiles



DarrenYoung
2006-04-12, 01:09 PM
Be nice if we could use custom profiles in TrueView. As it is not, you need to change the configuration but it only sticks for that user who's logged in. Be nice to point all users to our network based plotter configs.

Mike.Perry
2006-04-12, 08:12 PM
Be nice if we could use custom profiles in TrueView. As it is not, you need to change the configuration but it only sticks for that user who's logged in. Be nice to point all users to our network based plotter configs.Hi Darren

I like that one... it is very good one.

:beer: Mike

ekohles
2007-09-18, 12:31 PM
I created a custom profile in architectural desktop 2007 on one machine, and want to transfer that profile to another machine with plain AutoCAD 2007. I copied the custom profile to a floppy. Then copied from the floppy to where AutoCAD stores the profiles.
When I try to import through the options and navigate to where I put the files, AutoCAD does not recognize them. What do I need to need to do?

rkmcswain
2007-09-18, 01:19 PM
Be nice if we could use custom profiles in TrueView. As it is not, you need to change the configuration but it only sticks for that user who's logged in. Be nice to point all users to our network based plotter configs.

You can do this now. Create a .REG file and import it for each user using the windows logon script.

More info: http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/2005/11/configuring-dwg-trueview.html

ekohles
2007-09-18, 03:49 PM
It’s asking for an *.ARG file.
How do I get it to read a .REG file?

I created a new profile in AutoCAD 2007 that creates an .aws file.
So I tried replacing that one with mine, didn’t work.

rkmcswain
2007-09-18, 04:47 PM
It’s asking for an *.ARG file.
How do I get it to read a .REG file?

I created a new profile in AutoCAD 2007 that creates an .aws file.
So I tried replacing that one with mine, didn’t work.

My response was to DarrenYoung (see quoted part of my message)

DarrenYoung
2007-09-19, 01:22 PM
You can do this now. Create a .REG file and import it for each user using the windows logon script.

More info: http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/2005/11/configuring-dwg-trueview.html

I've since found a different method I like better. I just use Microsoft's Orca utility to edit the MSI file so upon install, it's what I need.

DarrenYoung
2007-09-19, 01:26 PM
It’s asking for an *.ARG file.
How do I get it to read a .REG file?

I created a new profile in AutoCAD 2007 that creates an .aws file.
So I tried replacing that one with mine, didn’t work.

I don't think you'll have any luck getting plain AutoCAD to read an ADT or other vertical produc'ts profile (ARG).

Also, an ARG file is a REG file except that there's some AutoCAD variables in it that get replaced when AutoCAD imports the profile. Renaming it to a REG and double slicking it would import it into your registry but without editing a lof of the data in the ARG (highly not recommended), you're likely to mess up your existing profiles.

Also recommend posting your inquiry to one of the ADT or plain AutoCAD groups. Tihs discussion group is specific to TrueView/

NBertram
2009-01-08, 03:40 PM
I've since found a different method I like better. I just use Microsoft's Orca utility to edit the MSI file so upon install, it's what I need.

I've opened Trueview's MSI in Orca, but it's not obvious to me where and how exactly to add additional support paths that I would like to be included in each user's Trueview options.

Can you give any direction?

gandocadguy
2009-01-08, 04:02 PM
Another option is a script that creates a reg file and the brings it in.

NBertram
2009-01-09, 01:59 PM
I've opened Trueview's MSI in Orca, but it's not obvious to me where and how exactly to add additional support paths that I would like to be included in each user's Trueview options.

Can you give any direction?

Nevermind. I just found a handout from Autodesk University where Darren describes how to do this.

I tried it and it worked great.

Thanks Darren!!!

DarrenYoung
2009-01-15, 07:48 AM
Nevermind. I just found a handout from Autodesk University where Darren describes how to do this.

I tried it and it worked great.

Thanks Darren!!!

Sorry for the late reply but glad you got the info.