PDA

View Full Version : What's the fastest way to get up and running on REVIT 6.1 ??

megmkrd1933
2004-05-18, 01:52 AM
I wish I was Superman ... err ... SUPERWOMAN!!!!

OK, I need to "... move like a speeding bullet and jump over tall buildings..." after I install my REVIT 6.1 CD tomorrow. What is the fastest way to learn?

I have been going thru my REVIT 6.0 tutorials this last year. I completed about 30%. My tutorials filled TWO 3" ring notebooks. About 875 pages. No time for that. I have 5 years of drafting experience on Autocad 13, 14, ADT 2000 and some small amount of VIZ 4. I have been slow as a snail because of back surgery and rehab this past year. I am ready to take the REVIT 6.1 plunge!

How do I "jump start" into REVIT 6.1? I have been offered a great drafting job for a custom home builder in the Orlando, FL area now. Please, any suggestions would help me. Thank you.

PS Is REVIT 6.1 compatible with Soft Plan? The custom builder uses Soft Plan.

beegee
2004-05-18, 02:09 AM
Hi Meg,

The great thing about Revit is that it's very easy to learn/use, particularly compared to those "other" programmes you've been using. :wink:

You've done 30% of the tuts, so just jump in and start on a project. As questions come up, post here or check out specific tutorials covering that aspect.

As far as conversing with SoftPlan goes, I'm guessing that dwg transfers will be the way to go, as they are for interacting with any other CAD programme.

Good luck and let us know how you are going with it.

Wes Macaulay
2004-05-18, 02:37 PM
Softplan is like a very light version of Revit... they're probably not compatible in the 3D sense -- you couldn't take your final Revit model and take it into Softplan to finish it, if that's what you mean, but in 2D you could probably export a 2D plan from Revit and import that into Softplan.