PDA

View Full Version : Eaves will not line up even though align eaves was used.

DoTheBIM
2006-05-17, 03:49 PM
Anyone up to a challenge? At least this newbie thinks it is a challenge. Why does this happen?...

When I have all the same pitches all is fine. as soon as I add a second pitch that is different my eaves are off by a little... in this case it was a 1/4". If all the slopes are the same it's works fine. To us this is important as we will be creating shop drawings for stuff like this and if it's not caught early it will get built wrong. Seems like a bug to me, but I'm not a programmer. See attached rvt file if you'd like to take a stab at it.

sbrown
2006-05-17, 09:22 PM
You must have a diff. overhang on one side vs the other.

Justin Marchiel
2006-05-17, 09:48 PM
The problem is that your roof is being cut plumb. Think about a rafter that is on a slope. the greater the slope, the more of a "cut" is created. Since you have one roof at 7-1/2" and the other at 6" you have different height "rafters" at the ends of the roof. in this case the difference in the cut is 1/4". I am not sure how the eaves align tool works, but it appears taht it is taking the alignment from the 6" slope and not the 7-1/2" slope, so then you get a miss alignement. You can also notice that because of this miss alignment your ridge is not in the centre of the roof.

Not really an answer on how to fix it, but at least i gave you the reason they don't line up. hopefully someone else can come in and tell you how to get it to work. I use 2 roofs, and join them together and it worked fine.

Justin

DoTheBIM
2006-05-18, 12:07 AM