PDA

View Full Version : xls to Revit (Is there an easier way ?)

jojo150
2006-05-28, 06:48 AM
I'm only fairly new to Revit, but is there a technical reason why *.xls tables can't be pasted into Revit? We used to import a lot of excel sheets into our drawing sets (bracing calc tables, member schedules, timber frame details etc) and this is now costing us a lot of time to bring into revit. open xls -> covert into .jpg -> import into revit file as image. Thats not too bad but its a mess when you have to go back and alter the bracing tables etc. Autocad R14 could handle this simple task, double click on the imported table and bingo you're editing it in excel. I've put this question to a couple of people but nobody I've asked either knows why it isn't their or don't know what I'm talking about. I think it is refered to as OLE (Object Linking & Embedding) but I could be wrong. Someone might correct me but I thought R9.0 was to include / enhance something with this. I thought the i-drop tool may have picked up .xls but the i-drop feature (which I again thought was included in R9.0) isn't working for me. If I am missing something or there is an easier way to attached .xls tables into our documents, please let me know. It's only a small thing but it's driving me mad.
Thanks
jojo

beegee
2006-05-28, 07:04 AM
The current workflow, is to import the .xls into Autocad, then link the Autocad dwg to a Revit file.

christo4robin
2006-05-28, 02:48 PM
The current workflow, is to import the .xls into Autocad, then link the Autocad dwg to a Revit file.
Kind of a bummer for those of us who aren't running Autocad alongside Revit. It would be nice if this was a direct process.

jojo150
2006-05-28, 05:56 PM
Thanks for the reply BG but I'm getting a few problems with your suggestion. When I try to link the acad drawing containing my .xls table, I get the the following error message from Revit.