PDA

View Full Version : Network Deployment of Maintenance Build Releases



cblackford
2006-07-12, 07:56 PM
How do those of you in multi-user environments, typically handle the release of the maintenance builds as they come out? If I deliver an icon pointing to the a spooled network deployment and an end-user launches it, they get the dialog telling them that a version of the software already exists. Is there a way to incorporate an "Uninstall" into the network deployment? I'd like to do everything in one place. In short I'd like for the Network Deployment to behave similar to the behavior of the install if you run it directly from the Autodesk download or a CD. In those instances it automatically kicks off the uninstall routine.

If uninstall can't be part of the network image, does anyone know of an uninstall executable that I can point to then just run it all from a batch file?

I'm just curious how everyone else handles it, because I feel like I'm missing something.

Thanks,

Chuck

Steve_Stafford
2006-07-12, 08:08 PM
When you create the network image you need to tell Revit which versions to uninstall when it finds them. Sounds like you've missed that step?

cblackford
2006-07-12, 08:41 PM
Thanks for the reply Steve. It's weird, I am not getting that step. Have you created a network deployment with the latest build? When I download ARS9_20060619_2300a.exe and double click on it to begin the process of creating my network deployment, I immediately get a dialog similar to the one you are referring to. It lists the currently installed version on my machine and prompts me to uninstall it. This dialog appears before I have even toggled the option to create a network deployment. I uninstall the old and build the new network deployment and there is never any other mention of previous versions or any uninstall options as I go through the remaining dialog boxes and spool the network image. Then after it is done, I go to the end-users workstation and launch the install, but it gives me this attached message, directing me to the control panel add/remove.

cblackford
2006-07-18, 02:00 PM
For the benefit of the forum group:

The official response from Autodesk support is that you cannot specify an uninstall in the network deployment of Maintenance Build releases like the recent ARS9_20060619_2300a.exe.

Sure would be nice though... :-)

If anyone knows of a file that kicks off the uninstall process, that I can point to with a routine, I would be eternally grateful.

CB

ron.sanpedro
2006-07-18, 03:08 PM
For the benefit of the forum group:

The official response from Autodesk support is that you cannot specify an uninstall in the network deployment of Maintenance Build releases like the recent ARS9_20060619_2300a.exe.

CB

I never thought I would say it, but a patch approach would really be a good thing. Just patch and go. The manual uninstall then install maintenance build is a real pain for any office over just a few Revit users. I can't imagine the pain at a big office with scores or more of Revit seats.
I hope some improvement in maintenance builds is included in R10, because the current system really is broken. Very frustrating.

Best,
Gordon

JamesVan
2006-07-18, 07:30 PM
The network deployment creates a VBS file, which you can edit in Notepad. If you missed the uninstall step as Steve mentioned, you can edit the VBS file as follows:

This is the installation code for Revit Building 9:


shell.run "msiexec /qb- /i " + _
"""\\NYS015\apps\AUTOINSTALL\Revit90\Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.msi""" + " " + _
"/lie+! ""Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.log"""

This is the removal code for RB9:

shell.run "msiexec /qb- /x " + _
"""{D11DB6CB-0332-4735-B312-B919741D975E}""" + " " + _
"/lie+! ""Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.log""",,true

If you want to write your own BAT file, the code is as follows:


msiexec /x "{D11DB6CB-0332-4735-B312-B919741D975E}" /qb- /lie+! "Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.log"
msiexec /i "\\nys015\apps\AUTOINSTALL\Revit90\Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.msi" /qb- /lie+! "Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.log"

The trick is to copy the installation code and change "/i" with "/x" and add ",,true" at the end. The long code is different for each application, so don't use this with Revit Structure.

HTH

cblackford
2006-07-25, 02:57 PM
Thanks James.. I think that is the command line syntax that I needed. I really appreciate it. For the record, one thing that I don't think you and Steve are understanding about what I am saying here.. I fully understand that you can specify an uninstall with the new releases that are actual official releases.. IE: versions 8, 8.1, 9, 9.1, etc.. what I am talking about is the extremely frequent "Maintenance Builds" IE: ARS9_20060619_2300a, etc. I agree with Gordon, that a patch approach would be a MUCH more effective way of distributing those in large office environments of 100+ users. If a "patch" system isn't possible, then it would at least be nice if Autodesk would allow you to build in the uninstall into the maintenance builds, the same way they do in the full releases. But, for now I think I can set up a routine with the syntax James gave me. Thanks again.

cparsons
2006-07-26, 02:14 AM
The network deployment creates a VBS file, which you can edit in Notepad. If you missed the uninstall step as Steve mentioned, you can edit the VBS file as follows:

Hi James,

So I made the mistake above. I did not instruct revit 9 to uninstall revit 8.1 when creating my network deployment folder. So I went back and did a no content test network deployment so I could compare the .vbs files. This time I removed 8.1. (Different machine BTW). The .vbs scripts are indentical. Am I missing something here?

Thanks,
Chris

PS I'll also add that my .vbs scripts are indentical to yours. minus the server pathing obviously.

Steve_Stafford
2006-07-26, 02:37 AM
...For the record, one thing that I don't think you and Steve are understanding about what I am saying here..I understand, but I think something is wrong because it wasn't always this way. If the new builds are not giving you an opportunity to specify the uninstall of the existing version then something is amiss. Submit it to support.

dbaldacchino
2006-07-26, 03:39 AM
Our IT deploys software in multiple offices over the network using Systems Management (programs are then available for manual install in the add/remove programs or deployed automatically through the scheduler). They say it's a real pain to set the system up, and in fact we do not get these builds. We're on subscription, but only get 2 versions a year, unless we beg and ask for a specific build to be installed. Any other improvement over the current system would be a plus.

dhurtubise
2006-07-26, 12:02 PM
David, i would talk to your IT, i have about 50 machines, they all get the new build as its out. It's really important to keep software up-to-date.

cparsons
2006-07-26, 04:32 PM
I understand, but I think something is wrong because it wasn't always this way. If the new builds are not giving you an opportunity to specify the uninstall of the existing version then something is amiss. Submit it to support.will submit it this morning and see what's up.

chris

cblackford
2006-07-26, 07:51 PM
something is amiss. Submit it to support.

I did submit it to support, see their response 7 posts up this thread.

When you run the maintenence build straight out, it does give you the option to uninstall older versions.. but when you spool a network installation image, and an end-user runs the install from that image, it doesn't run the uninstall.


only get 2 versions a year, unless we beg and ask for a specific build to be installed.

You probably already know this, but you can download the builds (with your IT groups permission, of course:-) ) at http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=7142518


Any other improvement over the current system would be a plus.

Amen brutha. It's not very "large user base friendly" at this point.

cblackford
2006-07-26, 08:03 PM
will submit it this morning and see what's up.

chris

For what it's worth, here is the response that I got in it's entirety.. it will be interesting to see if you get a better answer.
Dear Chuck,

"I have found that there is no tool that will automatically uninstall the old Revit build and then install the new one from the current version of the Network Deployment tools. This is being looked at for future versions; but I have no guarantee yet that we will see this in future releases.

Thank you for using Autodesk Subscription support, I apologize that I did not have a better answer in regards to this request.


Best Regards,

Autodesk Subscription Support Team"

Steve_Stafford
2006-07-27, 04:42 AM
Sorry about the redundancy of my suggestion...habit and I didn't reread the whole thread when I replied. Fwiw, I don't remember having this difficulty in the past when I actually did these installs myself. I don't remember having to unistall the previous version myself in the past and it seems to me that I would have if it was behaving as you say it is now. Therefore I assume that what was isn't working now and should be fixed. Even it wasn't and I was somehow oblivious, it should be fixed.

It "plain don't work" this way...

cparsons
2006-07-28, 05:04 PM
will submit it this morning and see what's up.

chrisOK all. Here's the deal. As was suggested in this thread you cannot remove the previous build of Revit automatically with the network deployment tools but you can remove previous version / other autodesk products. All you have to know is the right piece of code to add into your vbs script.

Here are the Revit related ones...

{3210C8A2-7777-4b2b-AD97-A50CB0B13247} Autodesk Revit Systems
{3F11CEE0-D30D-41ce-8522-922B5D8BB324} Autodesk Revit Structure 3
{7EBC0489-5E47-498D-BE31-B094484612E9} Autodesk Revit Building 8.1
{BE814F63-629D-4fd8-B628-1437AC10F9D4} Autodesk Revit Structure 2
{D11DB6CB-0332-4735-B312-B919741D975E} Autodesk Revit Building 9

and here's the extra piece of code that removes Revit 8.1:

shell.run "msiexec /qb- /x " + _
"""{7EBC0489-5E47-498D-BE31-B094484612E9}""" + " " + _
"/lie+! ""Autodesk Revit Building 9 Network Deployment.log""",,true

Many thanks to Dave Kurtz at Autodesk.

Chris