PDA

View Full Version : Hatch pattern file location issues



david.metcalf
2006-07-17, 11:05 PM
Once in a while I will get a drawing back from another consultant on the project and the hatch pattern will not be available anymore when we go to run the bhatch command. We get an error message that reads the following:

"acadiso.pat Can't find file."

What happens is the bhatch command is looking for "acadiso.pat" because that is what they have created the hatch pattern from. The consultants pattern files are in its default folders under \document and settings. On the other hand we have installed the program under our own specific folders where most of our sub-routines are included, such as "c:\acad\" folder (plus the other additional folders, support, ours, lisp, etc.). Our PAT file is located in c:\acad\ours folder under the name ACAD.pat.

As you can see, when we get the file back from them it goes back to the default folder (under "c:\document and settings\username\etc."). How can I get this file to read back into our personal folder with the name of the hatch pattern file as C:\ACAD\OURS\ACAD.pat ??? Do you have any idea how this is save internally in the file(s)? I write VBA and LISP, so if you can give me an idea where this information is tied into the drawing data base, I can create something that can fix this irritating problem once and for all.

Just a reminder, our ACAD.pat file contains every basic autocad hatch pattern plus many more. It's not that it can't find the pattern in the file. The problem is that it can't find the whole darn file at all. And even though it's the only PAT file available in the "support path search" folder (in options), it still won't find the ACAD.pat. I need to be able to force it to read this. If I copy the ACAD.pat into the same folder, then rename it to ACADISO.pat, it will find the hatch patterns once again, but I don't like to have two hatch pattern files floating around the office. That is only a temporary fix. Once I know where this information is imbedded into the file, I can manipulate it with lisp or vba to read our file.


Thanks
David

Mike.Perry
2006-07-17, 11:27 PM
Hi

What is returned if you type the following at the AutoCAD Command Line when inside one of your consultants drawing files...


Command: (findfile "AcadIso.pat")Have a good one, Mike

Mike.Perry
2006-07-17, 11:33 PM
Hi

Plus, the following threads contain some information that should hopefully prove to be helpful / useful...

Customized Hatches

Hatch pattern with a mind of its own!

Unable to change existing Custom Hatch Patterns within DWG file

Have a good one, Mike

david.metcalf
2006-07-17, 11:50 PM
Thanks Mike,
These settings you pointed out are a help!

MEASUREMENT is Saved within the Drawing.

MEASUREINIT is Saved within the Registry.

MEASUREMENT = 0 -> Acad.pat & Acad.lin are loaded by default within Existing drawings

MEASUREMENT = 1 -> AcadIso.pat & AcadIso.lin are loaded by default within Existing drawings

MEASUREINIT = 0 -> Acad.pat & Acad.lin are loaded by default within New drawings

MEASUREINIT = 1 -> AcadIso.pat & AcadIso.lin are loaded by default within New drawings


David