PDA

View Full Version : Purlins

4hoursstanding
2006-07-19, 06:44 AM
I am relatively new to RS3, so please bear with me. I am trying to create a family of purlins, but I am not sure how to restrain it so that I am able to type in different values for different sizes. If anyone could help, that would be greatly appreciated. I also cannot modify the length of the purlin when I import it into the drawing. Is this a setting? Thanks in advance for any help.

Paul Andersen
2006-07-20, 02:25 PM
Kale, what template did you start with to create this family? I would recommend creating a profile family to describe the geometry of your purlin. Then starting with either the Structural Framing - Beams and Braces template (Imperial Library, not sure if it's called the same in the Metric Library) or a delivered structural framing family you can use this profile to create the beam sweep.

4hoursstanding
2006-07-24, 01:19 AM
Ok,

I have created a purlin Profile with all the different types. How do I put this in a beam family? Sorry for my ignorance, I have been thrown in the deep end without a paddle. All the different values are there, but when I import that into my drawing file, I cannot rotate the profile at all. Any help would be appreciated. I have attached the Profile file.

Firmso
2006-07-24, 03:15 AM
How do I put this in a beam family?

1. You'll probably need to create it using Structural Framing - Beams and Braces.rft
2. Create mass and under Settings select Family Catedgories and Paremeters... Structural Framing.

Hope this helps.

Paul Andersen
2006-07-24, 01:40 PM
Kale, here's a quick shot at it that may still have some gremlins to work out. I created a fine and medium profile of your purlin. The fine profile is exactly the same as the one you posted. For the medium I just removed the radius from the corners. I made a copy of the UB-Universal Beams.rfa family to use as a template and called it ZPurlin.