PDA

View Full Version : moving newly created wall styles to new project

bdcombs
2006-07-28, 06:11 PM
I am sorry to ask but being a complete newbie I have been unable to figure this out in the program help or on forums. I have a few new wall styles created and when I started a new project I can not get the new wall styles in to the new project. Help.
Thanks,
Brian

Scott D Davis
2006-07-28, 06:22 PM
copy and paste walls that you create into your template. Every new project started from the that template will have them preloaded. Or just copy and paste from one project to another.

Dimitri Harvalias
2006-07-28, 06:32 PM
There are a number of ways.
A simple copy/paste operation will do it or you can use transfer project standards.

To do it one by one open both your old and new projects. Go to the project browser and find the new wall style, right click and copy to clipboard. Go to the new project and in a plan view, paste from clipboard . The new wall style will be loaded and available for use from the type selector.
If you have a couple of styles to copy you can select actual wall segments from one project and copy to the other
If you want to copy all wall styles from one project to another use the transfer project standards command from the file menu. Keep in ind this will overwrite wall styles with the same names (if you choose to.. a warning dialogue will come up)
Whichever way you choose it will eventually be best to save your wall styles as part of your template file.

ron.sanpedro
2006-07-28, 06:33 PM
copy and paste walls that you create into your template. Every new project started from the that template will have them preloaded. Or just copy and paste from one project to another.

Scott,
isn't there a way to import walls from an RVT file?