PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of switching

cparvez
2004-06-09, 01:38 PM
What were the highs and lows of switching over. What can I expect the learning curve to be like? What is file size like? Has Revit lived up to your expectations?

tjk0225
2004-06-09, 01:47 PM
Highs - thinking about DESIGN not layers, xrefs and plot configurations.
Lows - none (I started a new job in January and had to learn Revit, so I've been using for 5 months)

It took me about a week to adjust my way of thinking about CAD to feel productive in Revit. File size will be much larger than .dwg file sizes. However, I haven't experienced a slow down as a result. If you use worksets, most of your saves can be to your local drive which speeds things up tremendously.

Since I didn't really participate in selecting Revit, I would say that it has far exceeded my expectations.

Make the switch, don't look back.

Steve_Stafford
2004-06-09, 01:51 PM
Download the software (free 60 day trial when you do) demo it by spending 8-10 hours with it over a weekend (do the Getting Started with Revit Tutorials and how ever many others you can fit in)...see what your heart tells you on Monday.

For a little "light" reading search the Revit forum for "ADT Revit" for lively discussions going back a year.

luigi
2004-06-09, 02:10 PM
It didn't take myself a lot to learn it quite well. I do have a "but" though. We've been using Revit exclusively for about a year and a half, or more, and although people at my office are getting the basics, all have problems being productive. The key is that if people are used of thinking and designing a totality of architecture (not just 2d drawings under supervision) then Revit is a must. From Conceptual to Construction Documents Revit is a complete program that delivers an edge to traditional ways of conducting architectures.