PDA

View Full Version : New at the job, advice, guidance...

cparvez
2004-06-09, 01:47 PM
I am new at the whole CAD manager thing. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Wanderer
2004-06-09, 05:19 PM
hmm, this is kind of open-ended. :???: :smile:

Is this the kind of thing where you are being promoted within your current workplace or a new employee?

I can't give you advice on managing budgets, and automating upgrades or whatnot, just interpersonal stuff.

If your user has specific knowledge in an area that you aren't as proficient in, let them do their thing and empower them by letting them work their magic without micromanaging.
When delegating tasks, mix stuff up so people aren't doing the same things over and over again. (woman with a chip on her shoulder about having to make photocopies, and NO I am not making a pot of coffee) :roll:
Be direct. Don't do things without explanation. You don't have to make excuses for decisions you make, just let your people know why.

oh, one tech and money thing, though, since you are a CAD manager, you have a bit of equipment, software and training needs. Don't just stay with the same vendors your predecessors chose. Go out and bid out everything, whether it be your cad products, your hardware or your outsourced printing needs. When vendors find out theres a new boss in the house, you have a prime time for renegotiating contracts and getting good deals.

hth. let us know how you do. I am hoping for a promotion within the next 2 years, and I'd like to know the challenges you're facing.

BrenBren
2004-06-09, 05:54 PM
I am hoping for a promotion within the next 2 years, and I'd like to know the challenges you're facing.
Be careful what you wish for :razz:

Ed Jobe
2004-06-09, 06:06 PM
Robert Green has written a lot about it. You could go to cadalyst.com and in the left sidebar is a link called "Cad Manager".

RobertB
2004-06-09, 06:13 PM