PDA

View Full Version : Room Tag Duplicates---- Help!!!

michael.harris
2006-08-22, 03:44 PM
To all Revit Jedi's......... I'm a rookie with a question. We're brand new to the Revit world and are having the usual growing pains. But having much trouble creating room schedules for early programming. It's our understanding that you should input the total program schedule first, and then place tags as you create walls/ rooms. No problem.

My question is, if I have, for example, 35 "Offices" (each at 120 sqft), do I have to input "Office" 35 times in the schedule? It won't let me duplicate a room tag. There's gotta be a faster way (my program is 60 pages long!!!). I tried using the "count" field, but my minimal skills got crushed.

greg.mcdowell
2006-08-22, 03:49 PM
yes, you'll have to input it 35 times, one for each room... i seem to remember some discussion about creating an external text file with the information and importing it but i don't know enough to say much more than that

also, you don't "have" to go the route your talking about... in fact, it might lead to more problems than it's worth (I had an issue with how the rooms are arranged when you are presented with the list to choose from when placing rooms... yes, it's an office but to which department does it belong?)

michael.harris
2006-08-22, 04:05 PM
Thanks Greg for responding so quickly. I will try grouping by department as you said. But even so, each department has multiple, generic spaces in the program such as "Office" or "Clerical Workstation"....... I just thought Revit's schedules could work like spreadsheets, thus eliminating all the rows needed for each instance (when I could just quantify the row itself). But I wouldn't presume to call it a "bug" just because I don't know how to streamline it (still a rookie, and have not met Yoda yet).

greg.mcdowell
2006-08-22, 04:28 PM