PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on what I should learn to be marketable

cadop.89229
2006-09-28, 06:10 PM
I am a secretary who has been doing simple AutoCAD (2006) work for 1 1/2 years. Work in a utility modifying simple one line drawings of substation and generation plants. Everything we do is done "eyeballing" and without layers. Totally self taught from tutorials, tips and tricks, etc. and I do understand dimensioning, layering, blocks, paperspace, etc., even though we don't use them. I probably use 1/6 of the program. Need advice on what I should learn to be marketable when I leave this God forsaken place in a few years. I should say I have no drafting experience or education. Any suggestions??

Maverick91
2006-09-28, 06:14 PM
I am a secretary who has been doing simple AutoCAD (2006) work for 1 1/2 years. Work in a utility modifying simple one line drawings of substation and generation plants. Everything we do is done "eyeballing" and without layers. Totally self taught from tutorials, tips and tricks, etc. and I do understand dimensioning, layering, blocks, paperspace, etc., even though we don't use them. I probably use 1/6 of the program. Need advice on what I should learn to be marketable when I leave this God forsaken place in a few years. I should say I have no drafting experience or education. Any suggestions??go buy this book! (http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbnInquiry.asp?z=y&EAN=9780470008768&itm=1) Well worth the investment!

http://images.barnesandnoble.com/images/11410000/11419254.jpg

CADKitty
2006-09-28, 06:21 PM
And start taking some ATP courses here on AUGI (check out my sig line) and look into courses at your local colleges.

cadop.89229
2006-09-28, 06:30 PM
Thanks for the book suggestion. Do you think it REALLY means "no matter what your skill level"?