PDA

View Full Version : window in a sloped wall

marcknapen
2006-10-18, 02:34 PM
I made a mass (solid blend) and added walls with 'pick faces'.
How can I place a window (or an opening) in a sloped-wall?
How can I change the height of the sloped wall?

Justin Marchiel
2006-10-18, 03:15 PM
somebody else might have a bettter idea, but if i where stuck with this problem i would try to make a window from a generic model that has a ref plane that can be sloped (start with a generic model template, then switch it to a window family afterwards). as for the height becasue it was made based on a mass, you would have to recreate the mass and reapply the wall by face.

Justin

cphubb
2006-10-18, 03:49 PM
curtain systems also work for sloped windows

lev.lipkin
2006-10-19, 02:28 PM
Skylights could be placed in sloped wall also, and will follow slope of the wall, if that what you are looking for.

agu
2007-10-25, 01:09 PM
I have the same problem. I have a sloped wall in a 10 degree angle and I want windows in the wall. I have made a skylight at it works fine except that I can`t controle the sil height.
I have tried to make a sloped window from a generic family template, but I canĀ“t make the path in the sweep angled, and I can`t controle the constrains in a frame build up of extrusions.

Anne

cphubb
2007-10-25, 02:26 PM
The best way to do this is to draw a reference plane that will control the angle you want for the window in relation to the wall. Use that as your work plane for the sweep extrusions etc. Then delete the opening and use a void that is very deep to cut the wall. This should work out better than the skylight.

To improve that family, use an angle parameter to control the workplane angle and have a universal angle window.

agu
2007-10-26, 08:56 AM
thanks chris