PDA

View Full Version : Wall Closure and End Caps

Davied2
2004-06-21, 02:06 PM
Hi There

First time post to this site, I have been using Revit for about 6 months now as work have forced me to move on from ADT 3.3.

My question is this: If I have a 300mm thick cavity wall 100mm Brick, 100mm Cavity & 100mm Block and I insert a window in plan view how do I get the interior block work to return to show a closed cavity either side of the window.

I am struggling with this one, any help would be appreciated.

Dave

christopher.zoog51272
2004-06-21, 02:25 PM
In the wall properties, take a look at the "wrapping at inserts" parameter, it can be set to interior, exterior, or both. This controls how materials wrap at inserts, such as windows and doors. You can also control the wrapping of individual layers in the wall structure dialogue.

hth,
Z.

Wes Macaulay
2004-06-21, 02:41 PM
Hey Dave -- Like Chris said, you control the wrapping of finishes in the wall style by going to the Properties of a wall style > Edit/New > Edit Structure. The checkboxes in the wall assembly tell Revit which materials "turn the corner" at window and door openings to return to the window / door.

In the window and door families you can place a special Reference Plane parallel to the wall that is called a closure. The materials that you've checked so that they will wrap will in fact do so back to this reference plane. So you can place one of these reference planes on each side of the door / window. Open up a door family, right click on a reference plane (green dashed line) and you'll see a check box for "Wall Closure".

It's no fun having to learn new software, so you've definitely come to the right place. There are many ex-ADT users here who can tell you the equivalents for ADT commands and features in Revit. Unfortunately, Revit has no equivalent for AcDbZombie objects. But I think you'll get by nonetheless.

PeterJ
2004-06-21, 04:19 PM