PDA

View Full Version : How do I model a canopy

Nealo
2006-10-19, 02:09 AM
I am new to Revit and need to model and warehouse canopy.
The canopy would be supported by steel beams underneath and cables tied back to structural columns.
Do I model the canopy as a roof structure?
Any help would be greatly appreciated . . .

Cheers,
Nealo

DanielleAnderson
2006-10-19, 02:45 AM
I would suggest using an in-place family, that way the canopy will act as a single object. Or you could use structural beam members and create a thin roof to put over the top of that.

robert.manna
2006-10-19, 02:51 AM
I did a glass canopy on steel beams by creating custom steel beam elements, then creating a roof by footprint and turning it into a glazed roof (type becomes available after you create & finish the roof object), the glazed roof works like a curtain wall, and I was able to put in grid lines and custom panels to create each seperate glass panel. The beams themselves were heavily coped to be architectural and not just structural (more like outriggers) some of them also included rod tie backs that went up at an angle to the brick face of the building behind the canopy. If I have time tomorrow I'll up-load a screen shot.

Good luck!
-R

Nealo
2006-10-19, 02:54 AM
Thanks Danielle and Robert, I think you have pointed me in the right direction.

Cheers,
Neal

robert.manna
2006-10-19, 12:43 PM
Here is the promised shot. This was a rendering done post construction documents (I think), the site is screwed up, but the building looks pretty decent. Anywho, the canopy I talked about is in the lower right over the entry doors it wraps around the building, so you can see the tie-backs going up to the brick wall. You an also see the trellis I modeled up on the roof deck. Sorry I don't have more of a top down image that would show the canopy. You can barely see the beams under the canopy surface as I said they're heavily coped.

-R

Architeria
2007-04-27, 02:35 AM